Switching Career & New Identity (feat. Jason Bourne)

·

2 min read

I have a BA in Finance and 10 years of experience. The feeling of graduating in Full Stack Web Development is the equivalent of cutting a deal with the FBI and you got a new passport but you still have memory of your past.

How to move on?

So I watched all four movies of Jason Bourne and I finally found the answer.

You don't.

And this is also approved by my career coach as she said this is her favorite answer from me among all of her questions (25 in total).

Career coach: Why did you switch?

J: I don't consider it as switching. I am only adding coding skills on top of my previous experience. I speak 3 languages and when I got hired at my current job, it wasn’t a requirement to speak Chinese but it came in handy for a business meeting in China. I’m sure my finance background will come in handy in my future coding career. I trust I can make a difference for the users’ experience with my unique perspectives and skillsets. This is what makes me different from the others. I have 2 identities 😉

Good Luck! Jenny Ma 💌